Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Sigerson Cup - Looking back to 1912

The colleges competitions of the Sigerson football and FitzGibbon hurling cups are in full swing at the moment it is a timely chance to look back at NUI Galway (or University College Galway as it then was) and its first win in the competition in 1912. First contested in 1911, UCG won the second year of the competition in 1912 where Joseph F. Donegan was Captain of the winning UCG team which defeated University College Cork on a scoreline of 1-4 to 1 point.

The victorious U.C.G. team are pictured here:

University College Galway also went on to claim the Sigerson 50 years later 1962 with the winning team pictured here:

The Sigerson and FitzGibbon cups are two of the GAA oldest competitions and with such a rich history and tradition. Best of luck to all!

No comments:

Post a Comment